Our 11 year old, who has had Type 1 Diabetes since he was six, calls me up today and says, “Mom today I had an infiltrated site…and my blood sugar has been 495 today.”  Panic starts to rise inside me as that is not what you want to hear when you are across the country..  As if my little boy could sense my panic, he says… “Don’t worry, I got this, Mom…”  He then told me how he just changed his new pump site by himself and that he’s going to be just fine.

When your child reassures you that they are going to be just fine.  I don’t know bout you, but it makes me want to jump through the phone and hold him so tight until they find a cure.  When you are a parent of a T1D… you know the outcome of having too high of a blood sugar as well as too low.  They are both…well, they are both just bad…and so the instinctual  fear of maintaining this can be overwhelming.  As he’s getting older I know we are going to reach the point of him wanting to go spend time with his friends driving and going to parties…etc. and let me tell you…this is a real fear!  The day that happens….oh man I’m sure there will be an interesting blog.

